The Hobbit Begins Filming

Oh my gosh. I nearly cried while watching this little YouTube gem. Now, I don’t know exactly what that says about me except for the fact that J.R.R. Tolkien and Peter Jackson and The Lord of the Rings stories (in both book and movie form) were a monumental part of my life growing up, and the idea of being able to extend those moments and passions into another masterpiece is both emotional and inspiring.

There’s been such a disconnect between rumors and truth when discussing the making of The Hobbit, but finally, finally, production and filming has begun (and with Peter Jackson at the helm once again). To my sheer delight, I discovered this production video blog (introduced by the brilliant PJ himself) which is a tiny behind-the-scenes look at the making of the film thus far. And the best part: the “To Be Continued…” at the very end; it looks like the production team intends to keep these little video blogs up over the course of the project. Let us hope.

One response to “The Hobbit Begins Filming

  1. I completely concur with you regarding LOTR being part of your growing up – the films in particular, mixed with the absolutely incredible soundtrack have managed to create such a huge basis for my passions and memories in life, that I just don’t think I’d be the same without it.
    I was also on the verge of tears when I discovered this video 🙂 It’s like the return of something so close to us is really returning, it’s a bit too much to handle after all this waiting!

Leave a Reply

