Words for a Rainy Day

the arch in WSP

“There is so much in the world for us all if we only have the eyes to see it, and the heart to love it, and the hand to gather it to ourselves – so much in men and women, so much in art and literature, so much everywhere in which to delight, and for which to be thankful.”

— L.M. Montgomery,
Anne of the Island

There are certain books, movies, photos, people, beds, stories, places that people turn to for comfort in times of need. I watch Pride and Prejudice or 10 Things I Hate About You. I read Anne of Green Gables. I listen to the Finding Neverland soundtrack. I stay in my room and watch old episodes of The Office or curl up on the couch with a new book. I drink tea. I eat ginger snaps. I paint my nails.

Nashville today is rainy and cold, and I plan on going home and doing at least 4 of those things to make me feel better. But for now, my beloved LMM’s words are enough.

Leave a Reply

