Tea on the Balcony

view from the top

Today is the first day in nearly three weeks in which the temperature has not reached triple digits here in Nashville.  Yes, we’ve weathered everything on up to 111 degrees this summer, and quite frankly, I believe I’ve shouldered a little more of the burden than usual – I live in an ancient apartment on the top (third) floor with one little window unit.  It’s been an interesting summer.

You understand now, though, that this lovely, sun-dappled, 89-degree afternoon is not lost on me!  I decided to honor it by swinging open my balcony door and sitting out on my little shaded ledge overlooking our complex’s grassy courtyard, drinking warm orange spice tea and nibbling on ginger snaps, while Laura Marling’s I Speak Because I Can wafted from my record player.

afternoon snack

20-year-old Laura Marling, if you haven’t heard of her, is a British folk songstress with an old soul… (perfect for an afternoon sipping tea, right?).  Her lyrics are deeply felt and quietly thoughtful… and that voice, graceful and melancholy, is deceiving in its youth.  Laura Marling and her introspective harmonies have been a relatively recent discovery, but I feel like I’ve been listening all my life.

credit: http://dynamicmag.net/

beautiful girl

Recommended tunes from I Speak Because I Can include “Devil’s Spoke,” “Rambling Man,” “Goodbye England,” and “Darkness Descends.”  And try “Ghosts” and “My Manic and I” from her debut Alas I Cannot Swim.  Listen well and deeply.

Leave a Reply

