Discovery Thursday: Eli “Paperboy” Reed

the man himself

I decided that a semi-regular post under what I’m referring to as “Discovery Thursday” is a marvelous way to make myself (and hopefully the occasional reader too) look into some of the multitude of artists that I read about on a daily basis on an account of my career in the music industry.  I mean, I have the fabulous luxury of knowing so much of what goes on in the music world as a result of my job, and it’s time to start making use of this knowledge.  From this point forward, it is no longer acceptable for me to say “I’ve heard of them, but I’ve never heard their music” in response to the never-ending string of “Have you heard of so-and-so?” questions that you get when you a) work in the music industry, b) live in Nashville, and c) date a musician.

So I begin.  And DAMN!  Is that a white boy singing?!  My first discovery is a killer, not to mention highly relevant, choice, if I do say so myself.  Eli “Paperboy” Reed and his 8/10 new release Come and Get It drew my attention the moment I saw his album categorized as “rock” on Amazon but his voice compared to those of Michael Bublé, Aretha Franklin, and Harry Connick, Jr.

This slick dude looks like he walked off the set of Mad Men, but I’m telling you, he can wail.  His 60s-inspired funk is vibrantly energetic and dynamically soulful, complete with feisty bass lines and brassy horns.  His high-powered performances recall the likes of Sharon Jones and Amy Winehouse in my mind.  He’s modern and bold, and I am soooo buying his most recent work.

Check out his MySpace for a few sample tracks.  “Come and Get It,” “Doin’ the Boom Boom,” and “Am I Wasting My Time” are recommended for the win.  And in the mean time, here’s a live recording:

Leave a Reply

